Water resistance

Water resistance Banner

Important information about water resistance‬

Prior to being shipped, every Botta-Design wristwatch is tested for water resistance. The DIN 8310 and ISO 2281 standards contain precise specifications regarding the water resistance claims and testing procedures to be used. According to DIN, describing a watch as being “water resistant to 3 bar” or “3 ATM” means that the tested watch is able to withstand a pressure of 3 bar for a limited period of time without water entering it (equivalent to a 30 m column of water bearing down on the watch, or a pressure of 300N, i.e. 30 kg, per square centimetre).

Movements underwater, e.g. in the bathtub or under a jet of water (e.g. when showering), can cause considerable pressure peaks. The dynamic pressure generated as a result exceeds the tested static pressure many times over in some cases. Consequently, only watches classified as 5 bar / 5 ATM or higher are suitable for showering and bathing. Watches with the classification 10 bar / 10 ATM or higher can also be worn while swimming.

The watch must undergo regular and above all expert maintenance if their water resistance is to reliably preserved, as water resistance is not a feature that can be guaranteed permanently. The integrated sealing elements suffer wear during daily use and can be damaged by external factors (e.g. if the watch is dropped or the battery is replaced). When a watch is sent in for service, our technicians therefore also test the water resistance of your Botta-Design wristwatch and if necessary restore the original resistance level by renewing the sealing elements.

Botta Design Uhr
basket (0 articles)
No articles added to basket!

Wasserdichtigkeit

Wasserdichtigkeit Banner

Wichtige Hinweise zur Wasserdichtigkeit‬

Jede Botta-Design Armbanduhr wird vor der Auslieferung auf Wasserdichtigkeit geprüft. Die Normen DIN 8310 bzw. ISO 2281 legen dabei die zu verwendenden Dichtigkeitsangaben und Prüfverfahren genau fest. Die Angabe "Wasserdicht bis 3 bar" oder "3 ATM" bedeuten laut DIN, dass die geprüfte Uhr für eine begrenzte Zeit einem Druck von 3 bar standhält ohne dass Wasser eindringt (entspricht 30 m Wassersäule, die auf der Uhr lasten, oder einem Druck von 300N (entspricht 30kg) pro Quadratzentimeter).

Bei Bewegungen unter Wasser, z. B. in der Badewanne oder unter einem Wasserstrahl (z.B. beim Duschen) können erhebliche Druckspitzen entstehen. Der dadurch verursachte dynamische Druck übersteigt den geprüften statischen Druck teilweise um ein Vielfaches. Darum ist erst mit Uhren ab der Klassifizierung 5 bar / 5 ATM duschen und baden bedenkenlos möglich. Ab der Klassifizierung 10 bar / 10 ATM kann die Uhr auch beim Schwimmen verwendet werden.

Die Voraussetzung für eine zuverlässige Erhaltung dieser Dichtigkeit ist allerdings eine regelmäßige und vor allem sachgerechte Wartung der Uhr. Denn die Wasserdichtigkeit ist keine bleibende Eigenschaft. Die eingebauten Dichtelemente lassen im täglichen Gebrauch nach und können durch äußere Einflüsse (z.B. durch Herunterfallen oder beim Batteriewechsel) beschädigt werden. Darum prüfen unsere Techniker im Servicefall, die Wasserdichtigkeit Ihrer Botta-Design Armbanduhr und stellen die Dichtigkeit gegebenenfalls durch Erneuerung der Dichtungen wieder her.

Botta Design Uhr
Warenkorb (0 Artikel)
Sie haben noch keinen Artikel ausgewählt!